A Long Day

I thought I had it all planned out. Yet, the forces of stupid were conspiring against me. I called the taxi company last night and made an appointment for 4am today. I had a feeling that something wasn’t right when it took so many tries to get the address and phone number correct. Sure enough, 4am, no cab. So I called. No answer. I call again. No answer. I call one more time. Busy. Busy? WTF!

It was now 4:15am, so I call one more time. Finally, someone answers and is shocked that my 4am cab is not there by 4:15. I explained that I was surprised as well, hence my call. After more hold she admitted that the person that took my reservation was new and didn’t tell the driver, oh, and do I still want a cab?Following a brief discussion about time, space, and the future of my patronage, the cab showed up in 5 minutes. As we sped to the airport, I was joking with the driver, hoping I hadn’t woken him up.

As it turns out, because one person dropped the ball, the poor guy was shook out of his break/nap to get me. I caught the LAX shuttle, with 5 minutes to spare and made it to DC without further dealings with the forces of stupid but it made for a really long day…

Explore posts in the same categories: Travel

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

