Cool Bean!

Introduction

I have been recently looking for a decent (and inexpensive) word processor for my MacBook. I tried a few with little or no success. Finally I think I’ve found one. It’s called “Bean”.

As a matter of face, I’m writing this summary using Bean and then Exported the HTML file for pasting into my WordPress.com blog. It’s pretty darned cool! I do own a copy of Pages, but sometimes, for taking notes, or just jotting down thoughts, it’s a bit overkill.

How Strong is the Bean?

Bean is NOT a text editor, it is a word processor with all the basic formatting, spelling, page layouts etc… The price is pretty good. Currently it’s, uh, free! From the Bean website:

“Bean is not a replacement for MS Word. It doesn’t do footnotes or use stylesheets and is only partially compatible with Word’s file formats.”

In a nutshell it’s not a TOTAL package, but if you want to crank something out real quick, and then do something else with it, this little gem packs some pretty powerful stuff.

I still use Pages for “Heavy Lifting”. But for my little projects, like this, Bean is a winner!

Explore posts in the same categories: Reviews, Tech

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

